• Edicións:


May–December 2014

SON copy

Music and Art: Sound Correspondences joins the celebration of International Museum Day with a special commemoration for its fifth anniversary that converts the season into a benchmark in international music creation with the participation of composers from a plethora of countries in Europe (Germany, Austria, France, Greece, Holland, Italy, Portugal, United Kingdom, Russia, Serbia, Sweden and Switzerland), the Americas (Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, United States and Mexico) and the Middle East and Asia (Iran, Israel and Turkey). There is space in these encounters between music and art for all of today’s creative expressions with the aim being to shine the light on the most advanced aesthetic manifestations, the most important composers and the most interesting development prospects of this new music. While in previous editions CGAC hosted as many as thirty premieres directly linked to its exhibitions, in 2014 these will be joined by an additional eleven new works commissioned by Vertixe Sonora Ensemble.

Classical references of paintings, together with confrontations between reality and virtuality, society and technology will be present in Ties, the first of the concerts meant as a celebratory tribute to this fruitful relationship between music and art with the presentation in Spain of the works of two composers closely linked to the work done by Vertixe Sonora and the CGAC, Germán Alonso (Spain, 1984) and Stefan Prins (Belgium, 1979).

The second concert—Possible/Impossible—will be linked to the figure of the Galician artist Diego Santomé. Utopia and failure, balance and instability and references to the author’s specific works serve as the elements of the story line for the premiere of Bernardo Barros (Brazil, 1980), Francisco Castillo (Mexico, 1983) and Miguel Matamoro (Spain, 1991), together with the presentation in Spain of the work of Fernando Garnero (Argentina, 1976).

For the 18 November concert the musical proposal comes from Takuto Fukuda (Japan, 1984), Vladimir Gorlinsky (Russia, 1984), Marek Poliks (USA, 1989), Benjamin Scheuer (Germany, 1987) and Sabrina Schroeder (Canada, 1979) under the title Unveiled.

In The Margin of Reality, we will listen to the new creations of Stefan Beyer (Germany, 1981), Lou Michelle (USA, 1975), Andres Nuño de Buen (Mexico, 1988) and Santiago Quintáns (Spain, 1975), musical offerings based on the exhibition on Carlos León The Order of the First Things.

At the same time CAUSAL, International Encounter with Composers—a space for direct, pre-concert conversation with the composers that offers the opportunity to attend rehearsals—will be taking place.

» + info website CGAC


May 18, 13h

Germán Alonso Ecce Saturnus* (2013)
anti-Cronia for baritone saxophone and live electronics
Stefan Prins Generation Kill offspring 1* (2012)
percussion, cello, 2 game controllers, live electronics, live video

June 25, 20.30h

Fernando Garnero Ballad* (2012)
flute, saxophone, piano, percussion and electronics
Francisco Castillo New Work** (2014)
flute,saxophone and cello
Bernardo Barros Spill** (2013)
saxofón, cello, piano e percusión
Miguel Matamoro New Work** (2014)
flute, saxophone, piano and percussion

November 18, 20.30h

Marek Poliks New Work** (2014)
flute, violin, harp, piano and electronics
Vladimir Gorlinsky Bramputapsel#2* (2013)
flute and clarinet
Sabrina Schroeder New Work** (2014)
saxophone, harp, piano and electronics
Takuto Fukuda New Work** (2014)
flute, violin, harp and electronics
Benjamin Scheuer New Work** (2014)
flute, saxophone, violin, harp, piano and electronics

December 16, 20.30h

Lou Michelle New Work** (2014)
saxophone, electric guitar and piano
Andres Nuño de Buen New Work** (2014)
accordion, double bass and percussion
Santiago Quintáns New Work** (2014)
saxophone and electric guitar
Stefan Beyer New Work** (2014)
saxophone, accordion, double bass, electric guitar, piano and percussion

*Presentation in Spain
**World Premier. Commissioned Vertixe Sonora Ensemble

Alessandra Rombolà flute / Joaquín Meijide clarinet / Pablo Coello saxophone, gamecontroller / Vadim Yukhnevich accordion / Roberto Alonso violin, gamecontroller / Criptana Angulo, Thomas Piel cello / Carlos Méndez double bass / Angélica Vázquez harp / Rubén Barros electric guitar / David Durán piano / Diego Ventoso percussion / Ángel Faraldo electronics, sound and video // Musical Direction Pablo Coello / Artistic Direction Ramón Souto


Rúa Ramón del Valle Inclán 2, 15703 Santiago de Compostela
Tel.: 981 546 623 / cgac.actividades@xunta.es / www.cgac.org

xunta Vertixe Sonora sonoloxia usc